Tuesday, July 16, 2013

30 Days of Giveaways ~ Day 16

Here we are at Day 16--with fewer days to go than have gone before in this crazy month of giveaways! Hard to believe, isn't it? Yesterday's winner is:

Heather Louise Navarro!

Just as a reminder for any newcomers, you can enter multiple times each day, and each week's entries remain good for the whole week, both for the daily drawing of Ring of Secrets, and for Friday's drawing of the Tea Light Garden.


And a special one-day giveaway, I'll be doing a drawing tomorrow at 12:00 p.m. EST for a DIGITAL copy of Glass Girl. Please leave a comment below if you'd like to be entered, with an email address!

Today being Tuesday, I'm talking books again. So:

Story Time Tuesday - Glass Girl by Laura Anderson Kurk

I admit it--I picked up this young adult novel solely because it was inexpensive and recommended by my best friend, who kept gushing at how beautifully Laura writes. I knew it would be good, because said best friend has excellent taste. ;-) But I didn't know it would stay with me so long after I turned the last page (or rather, as I read this one on my kindle, pressed the page button the last time).

Here's the back cover copy:

When Meg Kavanagh finds herself in the unthinkable role of grieving sister, she discovers some harsh truths--parents aren't perfect, life's not always sweet, and the dead don't write back. Her famous artist mom grieves by slowly disappearing, and her dad copes by moving them to a small town in Wyoming.

What she finds in Wyoming blindsides her.

His name is Henry, and he's a rancher's son who pulls Meg into his larger-than-life world and shows her that being sensitive is not an excuse to sit this one out. Meg learns that the best things in life--like falling in love and finding mercy--require uncommon courage. With the help of a strange set of friends, a locker room disaster, and a trip she'll never forget, she finds that the things she thought would break her--school violence, loneliness, and separation--can be overcome.

From YA author Laura Anderson Kurk comes a heartfelt story of first love and family ties. Fans of Deb Caletti and Sara Zarr will appreciate Kurk's authentically imperfect characters and emotional storytelling.

Emotional storytelling is right--what I absolutely love about Glass Girl is how quickly it sucked me into Meg's life, and how tightly it held me there. Readers can't help but fall for sensitive, compassionate Meg who loves so wholly...and thinks herself so weak. "Glass Girl" was a nickname her brother had given her, and now after his violent death in a school shooting, she fears she'll break. But Henry--a hero to make you clap a hand over your heart--helps her see that glass isn't as fragile as it appears.

The writing was indeed superb. The characters were breathtakingly beautiful in their utter realness. The story was set in the everyday world, with such everyday events proving to be what they always are--critical, life-changing, and haunting. And at the end, I was left praying that I could see people the way Meg does...and raise my son to be like Henry.

This is a book I'll never forget. One that changed how I look at the world. And whether you're a teen or an adult, it'll change you too--you can find it on Amazon, B&N, and Smashwords.

The sequel, Perfect Glass, is out now, and I'm snatching it up too!

Now for the question of the day:

Who in your life has helped you see how strong you are?
(And do you want to be entered for an e-copy of this book?)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

20 comments:

  1. Hands down, the one who has been my biggest cheerleader is my husband. His voice is the one I hear telling me I can do it or I'm doing a great job and that he loves me no matter what drowning out the ones who say I'm not good enough or working hard enough or doing it right.

    ReplyDelete
  2. My mama, of course! Always there to support me. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Without a doubt my Mother. A big believer in the fact that girls can do, & be, anything.

    ReplyDelete
  4. A grandma who taught me I could do it. I could conquer what I needed to
    A God who loves me, forgives me
    God bless you

    ReplyDelete
  5. I was raised to believe I was strong and could handle anything. Not one specific person but by the family values and dynamics.

    ReplyDelete
  6. While my family raised me to be strong, it was with my beloved college roommates that I realized how strong I am, and that I could be a support for them in times of need. Now with my husband, I've realized one doesn't have to be strong all the time, since God has given me a strong man to support me!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Definitely my parents and one of my "mentors". This woman, "Mrs. S" has been a huge blessing in my life and taught me so much.

    What about you?

    ReplyDelete
  8. All you who entered this before I added the giveaway--I'm going to enter you automatically for the giveaway of GLASS GIRL. If one of you wins and isn't interested in a digital copy, then I'll select a different winner. ;-)

    ReplyDelete
  9. My best friend. She's been such a huge blessing in my life.

    ReplyDelete
  10. When I'm feeling like I can't handle something, my mom is the one who assures me I'm strong enough. I'm so blessed to have her.

    Yes, I'd like to be entered in the contest.

    Blessings,
    Andrea
    andrearenee2004@yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  11. Hallo Ms. White,

    The biggest blessing in my life has always been the loving support of my family! I have always drawn strength from being able to turn to my parents whenever I need them and they in return, have always been a strong force of encouragement!

    I am not entering for the bookaway as it's digital.

    ReplyDelete
  12. My mom has done a lot to help me see how strong I am, as well as people who have tried to kick me down.

    I would enter for an ebook.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Like so many others have said, my mom has probably been my biggest supporter and encourager. She has believed in me - even when I haven't necessarily believed in myself.

    Thanks for the giveaway! And, yes, I would enjoy the ebook!

    ReplyDelete
  14. My mom has always believed in me, but I think my husband is the one who is always been there for me. We both depend on each other and LOVE being together every moment we can.
    I love e-books, since I travel so much, so, yes, please enter me in the contest. Thanks.
    vmarney(at)hotmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  15. Roseanna - I was beyond to thrilled to come across this! Thank you so much for reading Glass Girl and feeling deeply enough about it to offer it! I cherish what you had to say about the book.

    As for the person who has made me see my own strength - in earthly terms, I'd say my children have shown me that I'm stronger than I've always thought. Being able to come to them in the night and calm them is a sacred thing. But -- more than that -- the more I learn about my Jesus as Teacher and Master, the more I understand the strength that comes from a close and trusting relationship with Him.

    Again, thanks so much for including my book and let me know if there's anything I can do for you!

    ReplyDelete